Men's Sports

Carr and Gremmel earn Big 12 titles

Iowa State will leave Tulsa with a third-place team finish, two Big 12 champions, and six NCAA qualifiers.

“I thought we wrestled pretty well overall today, you know, obviously congratulations to the champs,” head coach Kevin Dresser said.

David Carr and Gannon Gremmel both earned titles at their respective weights.

Carr defeated No. 3 Jared Franek of NDSU in an 8-2 victory. He had a dominant start, quickly notching a pair of takedowns in the beginning of the first period. He racked up over two minutes of riding time in the third.

The 157 pounder officially became a two-time Big 12 champion. He is also Iowa State’s first back-to-back champion since Kyven Gadson, who won three-in-a-row from 2013-15.

He also became the 57th wrestler in program history to win two or more conference titles.

“I want these guys to know that I’m coming for them,” Carr said. “You don’t have to come for me, you know, but I’m always gonna be the type of guy who goes out there, try to score points and I think when you try to score points all seven minutes it’s fun. I don’t want to waste any second. You know, as soon as whistle blows I want to go and get the take down. Most of my takedowns have been in like two seconds or something crazy. So definitely just trying to grab right off the whistle and just trying to go score points and have fun.”

Gremmel had a rematch in the final round against No. 3 Brian Andrews of Wyoming.

Andrews beat Gremmel at the 2020 Big 12 Championships 3-2.

This time around, Gremmel got his revenge. He led 1-0 after the first period and then rode Andrews out in the third period to win his first title 2-0.

“It feels good. I’ve never really been nervous for a tournament. So, I don’t know if it’s me being a senior or what, but I couldn’t even sleep the last two nights,” Gremmel said. “I mean, hopefully, I’m nervous next weekend too. But, it feels good, you know, hopefully I go undefeated. No one’s giving me a chance to win this but myself so I have to win two weeks from now and really shock the world.”

The heavyweight is the first Iowa State 285-pound champion since Matt Gibson, who won the title in 2012. Overall, he is Iowa State’s sixth Big 12 heavyweight champion.

Ian Parker entered the final rounds facing off against a familiar foe: Dom Demas of OU.

This marked the seventh time the pair faced off. It was also a rematch from the 2020 Big 12 Championships where Parker came out the champion.

The 141-pound matchup went into double overtime. They were tied 2-2 and Demas was able to secure an escape to take the advantage. The match came down to ride-outs where Demas had eight seconds of advantage time. Unfortunately for Parker, he was called for locked hands that gained Demas an extra point at the sound of the buzzer.

Parker officially finished in second place.

“You know, he lost a tough match,” Dresser said. “There’s a lot of things I could say about the mechanics of the way that match was run but I won’t that didn’t go our way. We could never get, you know, between the nose bleeds and the scores table never getting the time it hurt our strategy to win that match because we know that guy gets tired. We kept getting interrupted and we couldn’t get good airflow going but congratulations to him for winning.”

Marcus Coleman, Jarrett Degen, and true freshman Zach Redding also joined Parker, Carr and Gremmel in punching their tickets to the NCAA Championship.

There is also still a good chance Sam Colbray and potentially true freshman Kysen Terukina could earn at-large bids to the NCAA Championships.

Iowa State Placements
125: Kysen Terukina, 6th
133: Zach Redding, 3rd
141: Ian Parker, 2nd
149: Jarrett Degen, 4th
157: David Carr, 1st
184: Sam Colbray, 5th
197: Marcus Coleman, 4th
285: Gannon Gremmel, 1st

Team Scores
1. Oklahoma, 124
1. Oklahoma State, 124
3. Iowa State, 117.5
4. Wyoming, 105.5
5. UNI, 79
6. North Dakota State, 78
7. Northern Colorado, 70.5
8. South Dakota State, 67.5
9. West Virginia, 57
10. Utah Valley, 55
11. Air Force, 32.5
12. Fresno State, 31

Iowa State Match-by-Match Day Two
125: No. 5 Danny Vega (SDSU) maj. dec. No. 7 Kysen Terukina, 12-3.
No. 3 Trevor Mastrogiovanni (OSU) tech fall No. 7 Kysen Terukina, 19-1 (5:59).

133: No. 7 Zach Redding dec. No. 3 Zach Price, 8-4.
No. 7 Zach Redding maj. dec. No. 4 Mosha Schwartz (UNC), 20-7.

141: No. 2 Dom Demas (OU) dec. No. 1 Ian Parker, 4-3 (TB2).

149: No. 5 Jarrett Degen dec. No. 4 Triston Lara (UNI), 8-4.
Kyle Parco (FSU) dec. No. 5 Jarrett Degen, 9-4.

157: No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 3 Jared Franek (NDSU), 8-2.

184: No. 3 Dakota Geer (OSU) maj. dec. No. 5 Sam Colbray, 12-4.
No. 5 Sam Colbray dec. No. 7 Darrien Roberts (OU), 9-3.

197: No. 6 Marcus Coleman pinned No. 1 Tanner Sloan (SDSU), 3:25.
No. 3 Noah Adams (WVU) dec. No. 6 Marcus Coleman, 6-3.

285: No. 1 Gannon Gremmel dec.  No. 3 Brian Andrews (WYO), 2-0.

Iowa State Match-by-Match Day One
125: No. 7 Kysen Terukina (BYE)
No. 2 Taylor LaMont (UVU) dec. No. 7 Kysen Terukina, 7-5 (SV1).
No. 7 Kysen Terukina dec. Derrick Stacey (WYO), 4-2.
No. 7 Kysen Terukina dec. No. 6 Cody Phippen (AF), 9-6.

133: No. 7 Zach Redding (BYE)
No. 7 Zach Redding maj. dec. Jack Skudlarczyk (UNI), 13-0.
Anthony Madrigal (OU) dec. No. 7 Zach Redding, 8-3.

141: No. 1 Ian Parker (BYE)
No. 1 Ian Parker maj. dec. No. 8 Chase Zollman (WYO), 13-1.
No. 1 Ian Parker dec. No. 4 DJ Lloren (FSU), 6-2.

149: Kyle Parco (FSU) dec. No. 5 Jarrett Degen, 4-3.
No. 5 Jarrett Degen dec. No. 6 Dylan Martinez (AF), 6-2.
No. 5 Jarrett Degen dec. No. 7 Cameron Hunsacker (UVU), 1-0.

157: No. 1 David Carr (BYE)
No. 1 David Carr pinned No. 8 Parker Simmington (AF), 0:46.
No. 1 David Carr dec. No. 4 Cade DeVos, 8-2.

165: Troy Mantanona (OU) pinned No. 5 Isaac Judge, 4:20.
No. 6 Jordan Robison (UNC) dec. No. 5 Isaac Judge, 4-2.

174: No. 2 Hayden Hastings (WYO) dec. Julien Broderson, 6-1.
No. 8 Anthony Mantanona (OU) pinned Julien Broderson, 4:19.

184: No. 5 Sam Colbray dec. Jake Thompson (AF), 3-1 (SV1).
No. 4 Alan Clothier (UNC) dec. No. 5 Sam Colbray, 3-2.
No. 5 Sam Colbray dec. Michael Nelson (NDSU), 10-6.
No. 5 Sam Colbray maj. dec. Jacob Schoon (SDSU), 14-5.

197: No. 6 Marcus Coleman pinned Nick Villarreal (FSU), 3:59.
No. 3 Noah Adams (WVU) dec. No. 6 Marcus Coleman, 3-2.
No. 6 Marcus Coleman pinned Keegan Moore (UNI), 4:30.
No. 6 Marcus Coleman pinned No. 7 Owen Pentz (NDSU), 5:26.

285: No. 1 Gannon Gremmel dec. Chase Trussell (UVU), 6-2.
No. 1 Gannon Gremmel dec. No. 8 Blake Wolters (SDSU), 6-2.
No. 1 Gannon Gremmel dec. No. 4 Josh Heindselman (OU), 3-1 (SV1).


Jacqueline Cordova


Jacqueline graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in Journalism. She is currently the Iowa State Wrestling beat reporter, staff photographer and works closely with our social media. Jacqueline loves reading and watching trash reality TV shows when she's not watching sports.

Recent Posts