Women's Basketball

Bridget Carleton earns 2019 C.B.A. Female Athlete of the Year

Women’s Basketball All-American Bridget Carleton was announced today as the recipient of the  2019 Celia Barquin Arozamena Female Athlete of the Year Award at Iowa State.

Carleton capped off her career in the top five in nearly every major statistical category of the women’s basketball program.

She finished second in scoring with 2,142 points, third in field goals with 713, third in steals with 211, third in blocked shots with 124, and fifth in 3-pointers with 255.

That doesn’t include setting the school record for points in a season with 760 on the year.

Her senior season helped the Cyclones to a 26-9 record overall, a runner-up finish in the Big 12, and a trip to the NCAA Tournament.

That led to Carleton being selected as the 21st pick in the WNBA Draft, and making the team for the Connecticut Sun.

The Chatham, Ontario, Canada native also became the first Cyclone to win the Cheryl Miller award – given to the nation’s best small forward.

Carleton is the first winner of the award since it was renamed to honor the late 2018 Iowa State Female Athlete of the Year, Celia Barquin Arozamena.


Connor Ferguson


Connor will be covering women’s basketball for Cyclone Fanatic during the 2018-19 season. He is currently a junior enrolled at Iowa State and is studying journalism at Iowa State’s Greenlee School of Journalism. Connor also covers a variety of sports around the state of Iowa, including Indoor football and motorsports for Last Word on Sports. He also appears on-air four times a week covering high school football for 1460 KXnO, college football for his own podcast, and professional sports for 88.5 KURE – Iowa State’s student radio station.

Recent Posts