Women's Basketball

WBB: Bridget Carleton wins Cheryl Miller Award

Bridget Carleton looks for a pass during Iowa State’s second round game against Missouri State.

It’s been quite the awards season already for Iowa State women’s basketball graduating senior Bridget Carleton and she added another accolade to her trophy case on Thursday evening.

On top of earning spots on a plethora of All-American teams, being named to the Naismith Starting 5, and Big 12 Player of the Year, Carleton was named the Cheryl Miller Award winner.

The award is given to college basketball’s best small forward and Carleton fit the mold.

The Chatham, Ontario, Canada native set records at Iowa State in scoring 760 points and averaging 21.7 points per game this season.

“Bridget had a special year and helped to lead Iowa State to one of our best seasons ever, ” head coach Bill Fennelly said in a release. “Receiving these awards is a tremendous honor for her and our program. What an amazing way to end one of the greatest Cyclone careers ever.”

The next piece of Carleton news to look for will come in the middle of next week, with the WNBA Draft taking place on Wednesday.

Carleton has appeared frequently in mock drafts as a second rounder, but don’t be surprised if this award bumps her forward.


Connor Ferguson


Connor will be covering women’s basketball for Cyclone Fanatic during the 2018-19 season. He is currently a junior enrolled at Iowa State and is studying journalism at Iowa State’s Greenlee School of Journalism. Connor also covers a variety of sports around the state of Iowa, including Indoor football and motorsports for Last Word on Sports. He also appears on-air four times a week covering high school football for 1460 KXnO, college football for his own podcast, and professional sports for 88.5 KURE – Iowa State’s student radio station.

Recent Posts