Men's Sports

WRESTLING: Cyclones in sixth after day one in Tulsa

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

TULSA, Okla. – Through two sessions at the 2017 Big 12 Championship, Iowa State (1-12, 1-6 Big 12) sits in sixth place with 49.5 team points. Eight individuals are still in the hunt for an NCAA Championship birth.

Second Session

The second session of wrestling at the BOK Center consisted of the semifinals and two consolation rounds. The Cyclones sent four wrestlers to the semis in redshirt seniors Earl Hall, Lelund Weatherspoonand Carson Powell, as well as redshirt freshman Colston DiBlasi.

At 133, No. 3 Hall was pitted against Oklahoma State’s No. 2 Kaid Brock. Hall and Brock wrestled in what was one of the most entertaining matches of the day. The Homestead, Fla., native threw his patented cement mixer twice, as well as a series of hip tosses. In the end, Hall’s high pace was not enough to knock off the Cowboy as he went on to drop a 7-4 decision.

In the 157-pound semifinal, it was No. 6 Diblasi v. No. 2 Clay Ream of North Dakota State. DiBlasi was unable to get to his offensive attack and fell to the Bison, 17-6.

No. 3 Weatherspoon was in search of his fourth Big 12 Championship match appearance. In order to reach the 174-pound finals, he needed to defeat No. 2 Kyle Crutchmer of Oklahoma State. Weatherspoon was able to get to the Cowboy’s leg a couple of times, but a second-period Crutchmer takedown was enough to top Weatherspoon, 3-1.

The 184-pound semifinal match was also an Iowa State-Oklahoma State match up. No. 4 Powell was slated with No. 1 Nolan Boyd. Powell put in a good ride to begin the second, but Boyd earned the victory with a 9-0 major decision.

Redshirt seniors Kyle Larson, John Meeks and Quean SmithClick here to hear it, and redshirt sophomore Marcus Harringtonalso remain alive on the backside of the bracket.

No. 5 Larson picked up a dominant 11-2 major decision over UVU’s No. 8 Mitch Brown, while No. 5 Meeks defeated No. 10 Henry Pohlmeyer of SDSU by 5-3 decision to advance.

Two victories in the second session for No. 8 Harrington sent him to the consolation semifinals. He knocked off No. 10 Jamarcus Grant by 9-5 decision and then ousted No. 4 Anthony McLaughlin in tie breaker 2, behind five seconds of advantage time.

Heavyweight and No. 5 seed Smith beat No. 8 Kerry Powers of Air Force by 5-1 decision to reach the consolation semifinals.

Up Next

The third session medal matches will begin at 8 a.m. tomorrow morning. The championship session will begin at 1 p.m.


125: No. 4 Christian Moody (OU) dec. No. 5 Kyle Larson (ISU), 4-3.
No. 5 Kyle Larson (ISU) maj. dec. No. 8 Mitch Brown (UVU), 11-2 (2:05 RT).

133: No. 3 Earl Hall (ISU) dec. No. 6 Cory Stainbrook (WVU), 3-2.
No. 2 Kaid Brock (OSU) dec. No. 3 Earl Hall (ISU), 7-4.

141: No 4 Timmy Box (UNC) dec. No. 5 John Meeks (ISU), 3-1.
No. 5 John Meeks (ISU) dec. No. 10 Henry Pohlmeyer (SDSU), 5-3.

149: No. 7 Christian Monserrat (WVU) maj. dec. No. 10 Gabe Moreno (ISU), 11-1.
No. 10 Gabe Moreno (ISU) dec. No. 8 Mitch Friedman (NDSU), 6-5 (1:52 RT)
No. 5 Grant Lamont (UVU) fall. No. 10 Gabe Moreno (ISU), 1:07.

157: No. 6 Colston DiBlasi (ISU) dec. No. 3 Clark Glass (OU), 1-0 (4:00 RT).
No. 2 Clay Ream (NDSU) maj. dec. No. 6 Colston DiBlasi (ISU), 17-6.

165: No. 10 Logan Breitenbach (ISU) tech fall. No. 7 Ricky Padilla (AF), 20-4.
No. 2 Dylan Cottrell (WVU) dec. Logan Breitenbach (ISU), 8-1.
No. 9 Koy Wilkinson (UVU) dec. Logan Breitenbach (ISU), 7-3.

174: No. 3 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU) dec. No. 6 Kyle Pope (WYO), 3-2.
No. 2 Kyle Crutchmer (OSU) dec. No. 3 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU), 3-1.

184: No. 4 Carson Powell (ISU) dec. No. 5 Tyler McNutt (NDSU), 6-0 (1:49 RT).
No. 1 Nolan Boyd (OSU) maj. dec. No. 4 Carson Powell (ISU), 9-0.

197: No. 8 Marcus Harrington (ISU) dec. No. 9 Luke Paine (WYO), 7-5 (1:55 RT)
No. 1 Jacob A. Smith (WVU) dec. No. 8 Marcus Harrington (ISU), 9-5.
No. 8 Marcus Harrington (ISU) dec. No. 10 Jamarcus Grant (UNC), 9-5 (2:23 RT).
No. 8 Marcus Harrington (ISU) dec. No. 4 Anthony McLaughlin (AF), 5-4 (TB-2).

285: No. 4 Ben Tynan (NDSU) dec. No. 5 Quean SmithClick here to hear it (ISU), 7-2.
No. 5 Quean SmithClick here to hear it (ISU dec. No. 8 Kerry Powers (AF), 5-1.

Recent Posts