Olympic Sports

Women’s cross country wins the Big 12

The following release (and above photo) is courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

LUBBOCK, Texas – The No. 15 Iowa State women’s cross country team won the 2016 Big 12 Championship on Saturday at Rawls Golf Course in Lubbock, Texas. The Cyclones claimed their fifth Big 12 title in six years with a phenomenal team performance.

The Cyclones, who entered the race as the second-seeded team in the meet, took hold of their place atop the conference at the 2k mark after overtaking a fast-starting Baylor squad. By the half-way point of the race, Anne Frisbie, Perez Rotich, Bethanie Brown and Erin Hooker occupied the fifth throught eighth-place spots, as ISU continued to assert itself and led the race by 27 team points.

The margin only grew wider from there, as the Frisbie remained at the head of the Cardinal & Gold pack. The sophomore, who finished 36th a season ago at the Big 12 Championship, continued her break-through season with a fourth-place finish in 20:38.8. She was joined in the top ten by 2015 Big 12 Champion Perez Rotich (8th – 20:55.6) and Bethanie Brown (9th – 20:57.6). Erin Hooker was the fourth Cyclone to claim All-Big 12 honors by placing 11th in 21:01.7.

Iowa State’s valuable depth was on display as sophomore Kelly Naumann rounded out the ISU scoring effort, finishing 24th in 21:34.3. Abby Caldwell (28th – 21:38.8) and freshman Branna MacDougall (32nd – 21:43.2) were not far behind as the next Cyclones across the finish line. MacDougall was making her collegiate debut for the Cyclones at the meet.

Evelyne Guay (42nd – 22:05.4), Maryn Lowry (51st – 22:27.4) and Megan Schott (66th – 22:59.6) also helped the Cyclones to victory on Saturday.

Next Up

The Cyclones return to action on Friday, Nov. 11 at the NCAA Midwest Regional in Iowa City, Iowa. The day’s events are set to begin at 12 p.m. CT.

Women’s 6k Team Scores:

1. Iowa State – 56
2. Oklahoma State – 82
3. West Virginia -111
4. Oklahoma – 124
5. Baylor – 126
6. Kansas – 129
7. Texas – 139
8. TCU – 203
9. Texas Tech – 204
10. Kansas State – 261

Individual Championship Race Results

1) Sharon Lokedi, Kansas, 20:18.5; 4) Anne Frisbie, Iowa State, 20:38.8; 8) Perez Rotich, Iowa State, 20:55.6; 9) Bethanie Brown, Iowa State, 20:57.6; 11) Erin Hooker, Iowa State, 21:01.7; 24) Kelly Naumann, Iowa State, 21:34.3; 28) Abby Caldwell, Iowa State, 21:38.8; 32) Branna MacDougall, Iowa State, 21:43.2; 42) Evelyne Guay, Iowa State, 22:05.4; 51) Maryn Lowry, Iowa State, 22:27.4; 66) Megan Schott, Iowa State, 22:59.6

Recent Posts