Seanna Johnson named Preseason All-Big 12

The following is a press release courtesy of Iowa State athletics communications. 

IRVING, Texas – Iowa State women’s basketball senior Seanna Johnson was named to the preseason All-Big 12 team by the Big 12 Conference coaches, the league announced Wednesday.

Johnson is the first Cyclone named to the preseason All-Big 12 team since Hallie Christofferson in 2013-14.

Johnson, who was selected to the All-Big 12 first-team last season, was second in the Big 12 in 2015-16 in points (17.0) and rebounds (9.4). She was also the only player in the nation to average over 17.0 points, 9.0 rebounds and 3.0 assists. She currently ranks 22nd in the Iowa State record books with 1,156 career points, eighth with 797 rebounds and fourth in double-doubles with 27.

Iowa State officially begins the 2016-17 season on Nov. 11 against UC-Santa Barbara at noon in Hilton Coliseum.

Preseason All-Big 12

Nina Davis, Baylor
Alexis Jones, Baylor
Seanna Johnson, Iowa State
Breanna Lewis, Kansas State
Brooke McCarty, Texas

Honorable Mention (listed alphabetically by school)

Kalani Brown (Baylor), Peyton Little (Oklahoma), Vionise, Pierre-Louis (Oklahoma), Kaylee Jensen (Oklahoma State), Ariel Atkins (Texas), Tynice Martin (West Virginia) and Lanay Montgomery (West Virginia).

Preseason Player of the Year

Nina Davis, Baylor, F, 5-11, Sr, Memphis, Tenn.

Preseason Newcomer of the Year

Kristina King, West Virginia, F, 6-3, Jr, Mebane, N.C.

Preseason Freshman of the Year

Lauren Cox, Baylor, F, 6-4, Flower Mound, Texas

Recent Posts