Niang a finalist for Karl Malone Award


Karl Chevrolet gives you peace of mind when you purchase a GM Certified Pre-owned vehicle. We have been the #1 GM Certified dealer in the nation for 10 consecutive years. Before you make your next purchase, come see why more people nationwide drive a Karl Chevrolet Pre-owned vehicle than any other dealer-There is a difference, Come see why TODAY!!

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior Georges Niang has been named one of the Final 5 candidates for the Karl Malone Award, given annually to the nation’s best power forward. This is the second consecutive season that Niang has been one of the finalists for the award, presented by the Basketball Hall of Fame.

Niang, a Methuen, Massachusetts, native, is the only player in the nation averaging at least 19 points and six rebounds, while also shooting 50 percent on field goals and 80 percent at the line. Only 23 players (29 times) have done this since 1994-95, with the last being Creighton’s Doug McDermott in 2013-14. Niang has been in double figures all 31 games this season, including 12 games with 20 or more points.

Niang averaged 20 points and shot 54 percent from the field in Big 12 play, becoming just the fifth player in league history to do so (Blake Griffin, Oklahoma; Andre Emmett, Texas Tech; Marcus Fizer, Iowa State; Raef LaFrentz, Kansas). 

The winner of this award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. By visiting, fans will have the ability to vote for who they think should win. The voting opens on Friday, March 11 and will run until Friday, March 25.

Karl Malone Award Final 5

Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Jameel Warney, Stony Brook

Recent Posts