Bibbs earns Senior Bowl invitation


 Iowa State senior tight end E.J. Bibbs has provided one of a handful bright spots in an otherwise disappointing 2-8 season. Monday, it was announced he’d been invited to participate in the prestigious Senior Bowl, which will be played Jan. 24 at Mobile, Ala.

 Read the full ISU release here, or below.

 Courtesy ISU athletics:  

AMES, Iowa – Iowa State senior tight end E.J. Bibbs has been invited to participate in the 2015 Reese’s Senior Bowl, one of college football’s oldest annual All-Star games. 

The Reese’s Senior Bowl is an all-star game played annually in Mobile, Alabama where NFL prospects who completed their eligibility get the chance to showcase their abilities. Iowa State has sent 24 players and one coach to the Senior Bowl, including 2014 participant Kirby Van Der Kamp. 

The game will be played on January 24, 2015.

Bibbs, one of eight semifinalists for the John Mackey Award, has established himself as one of the best tight ends in the nation in 2014, recording 45 catches for 382 yards and eight TDs.
Bibbs leads all “power 5” conference tight ends in TD catches (8) and receptions (45). Bibbs’ eight TD receptions is one shy from the school record.

A native of Chicago, Ill., Bibbs’ name is all over the ISU tight end record book. He has two of the top-three single-season tight end receptions marks (3rd- 39 in 2013; 2nd- 45 in 2014) and his 84 career catches ranks third all-time among ISU tight ends.

Bibbs has caught a pass in 22-straight games, tying for the second-longest streak in ISU history. Twice this season Bibbs has been named the CFPA TE Performer of the Week, including after a 10-catch, 73-yard and 2-TD performance at Texas.

Cyclone Senior Bowl Participants
1955 – Max Burkett
1962 – Dave Hoppmann, Chuck Walton
1963 – Dave Hoover
1964 – John Van Sicklen
1966 – Eppie Barney
1968 – Tom Busch
1969 – Coach Clay Stapleton
1972 – Dean Carlson
1973 – Merv Krakau
1974 – Matt Blair
1975 – Tom Goedjen
1977 – Luther Blue
1979 – Mike Stensrud
1981 – Kenny Neil
1983 – Bruce Reimers
1986 – Dennis Gibson
2000 – Sage Rosenfels
2001 – Ennis Haywood
2002 – Seneca Wallace
2003 – Jordan Carstens
2007 – Ahtyba Rubin
2011 – Leonard Johnson, Kelechi Osemele
2013- Kirby Van Der Kamp
2014- E.J. Bibbs


Rob Gray


Rob, an Ames native, joined Cyclone Fanatic in August, 2014 after nearly a decade and a half of working at Iowa's two largest newspapers. He spent 10 years at the Des Moines Register and, after a brief stint in public relations, joined the Cedar Rapids Gazette as an Iowa State correspondent three years ago. Rob specializes in feature stories for CF.

Recent Posts